MPA is place of connection, protection, and growth for psychologists. MPA committees are an excellent way to get involved and stay active in your professional association. To find out how you can get involved in an MPA committee, email us at [email protected].



2023 Annual Conference Committee

The Annual Conference Committee meets monthly from to plan MPA’s Annual Conference in April. Members of this committee identify a conference theme; develop the call for proposals; review, select, and schedule conference presenters; and, secure sponsorships. If you are interested in gaining experience planning a conference, join this committee. In addition, this committee seeks those with skill or interest in managing the financial side of event planning.

Jill Isenberg & Karin Fisher
2023 Annual Conference Committee Chair


Academic Awards Committee

The Academic Awards Committee selects recipients for the Walter D. Mink Outstanding Undergraduate Teacher Award; the Award for Outstanding Graduate Faculty in Psychology; and, the Award for the Outstanding Teaching of Psychology in Community/Two-year Colleges. All awards are presented at the MPA Annual Convention. If you are interested in reviewing exemplary contributions to student development and the teaching of psychology, consider joining this committee.

Joan Ostrove
Academic Awards Committee Chair


Diversity Committee

The purpose of the Diversity Committee is to support MPA in its mission to be an organization that values diversity. This includes but is not limited to increasing recruitment, retention, and support of individuals of diverse backgrounds in the field of psychology; developing an advocacy agenda; and, recognizing our elders. All are welcomed to join this committee.

Sonal Markanda , Ph.D., LP
Diversity Committee Chair

Education & Training Committee

The Education and Training Committee plans and delivers high quality continuing education programs for psychologists, students, and other mental health professionals. The major programs include the First Friday Forums, the Friday Forum Encores, the Distinguished Scholar Lectures, and conferences.

Susan T. Rydell, Ph.D., LP
Education & Training Committee Chair

Ethics Committee

The Ethics Committee provides consultation on ethical issues related to psychological practice. The committee consults with MPA members and the greater Minnesota community using the American Psychological Association’s (APA) ethical standards. If you have experience and/or expertise consulting on ethical dilemmas consider joining this committee.

Check out this overview of the committee from 2019!

Matt Hanson Ph.D., LP
Ethics Committee Co-Chair

Rose M. Stark-Rose, Ph.D., LP
Ethics Committee Co-Chair


Leadership Institute

The purpose of the program is designed to foster and maintain diversity of leadership within MPA including gender, race/ethnicity, sexual orientation/expression, geographic region, and those with minimal leadership experience. Click here to learn more.


Legislative Committee

The Legislative Committee develops the annual legislative agenda for MPA and forwards it to the Governing Council for approval. The committee works closely with MPA’s lobbyist to implement MPA’s legislative agenda and to track legislative activity of interest to MPA, psychology in general, and the psychological and general well-being of Minnesota citizens. If you are interested in working on legislative issues that affect psychologists in Minnesota, this committee may be for you.

Dennis Hannon, Psy.D., LP
Legislative Committee Co-Chair

Steven Giradeau, Psy.D., LP
Legislative Committee Co-Chair

Paterson Award Committee

The Paterson Award Committee selects and presents an outstanding college senior who is planning a career in psychology to receive the Donald G. Paterson Award in Psychology at the MPA Annual Convention. The purpose of the $350 award is to recognize and encourage high achievement in psychology at the undergraduate level. If you are interested in reading about the work of outstanding psychology undergraduates, this committee may be for you. For more information about the award, click here.

Amanda Janke
Paterson Award Committee Chair

Payer Committee

(Position Open - email [email protected] if you are interested in applying!)

Trisha A. Stark Community Involvement Award Committee

Scott Palmer, Ph.D., LP
Trisha A. Stark Community Involvement Award Committee Chair