MPA's mission is to serve the science of psychology and its applications throughout Minnesota so the interests of public welfare and psychologists are mutually enhanced.

Temporary Office Closure Notice

In order to keep our members, leadership, and staff safe during these challenging times due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the MPA staff will be working remotely until August. The best way to reach them is via email at [email protected]. Phone calls will not be answered by a live person during this time. Please leave a voicemail when you call our office phone and a staff member will return your call, or request a callback by emailing staff. Thank you for your patience during this time. 

Looking for an online education opportunity? Check out this on-demand webinar on the topic of Establishing an Ethical Prime Directive: A Proactive and Informed Approach to Navigating Rural Ethical Dilemmas

Welcome from 2020 MPA President, Dr. Willie Garrett

 Why Should YOU Join MPA? 

Learn More and Join Today


MPA Affirms Statement: APA Calls for Destigmatizing Coronavirus

4/8/2020: MPA affirms the position of the American Psychological Association in combating the COVID-19 related racism and discrimination that is occurring, particularly toward the Asian community. The spread of COVID-19 has marked an increase in racism, stereotyping, bullying, harassment, and discrimination toward members who are or who are perceived to be of Asian descent. Racial and ethnic identity and group membership does not confer greater risk of spreading or contracting the infection. Research has demonstrated that racism and discrimination contributes to worse physical and mental health outcomes for targeted groups. Additionally, targeted groups are at increased risk during illness outbreaks because they are more vulnerable to attacks and may not seek care when they need it out of fear of experiencing discrimination. For these reasons, MPA strongly denounces the use of language that stigmatizes and promotes bias and xenophobia. As a community with a large population of Asian residents, we want our Minnesota friends, neighbors, and colleagues to know that we value their health and well-being and are strongly against any behavior or language that targets them. MPA recommends taking active steps against racism and discrimination including speaking up when witnessing racist acts, building connections with targeted groups to increase the visibility of their experience, and reporting incidents of discrimination to the Minnesota Department of Human Rights by calling 651-539-1133 or 1-800-657-3704.

In addition to denouncing these overt acts of racism, MPA recognizes that the systemic inequities that previously existed, which are often more covert and less visible to those who do not directly experience them, are being amplified by this illness outbreak. Structural racism is an underlying condition in its own right and is the background against which COVID-19 will take its toll. Consistent with our diversity statement, we at MPA remain committed to combatting racism and other forms of prejudice and continue to value diversity within our community.

MPA States Concerns for Potential St. Joseph's Hospital Closure

1/15/2020: The Minnesota Psychological Association is deeply concerned about the potential closing of M Health Fairview - St Joseph’s Hospital in St Paul, MN. Loss of this facility would result in a 1/3 reduction in mental health and addiction beds in the city. Inpatient services for mental health and addiction are few. Loss of these beds would almost certainly trigger a crisis. Spillover into emergency rooms and jails would decrease patient care, increase the financial burden of taxpayers, and further criminalize and stigmatize mental health concerns. Further, health disparities would worsen for racial and ethnic minority communities, as over 70-80% of patients in mental health and addiction beds at St Joseph’s Hospital are on public insurance. St Joseph’s Hospital cares for a more diverse and poorer patient population than any other M Health Fairview Hospital. Fairview would be abandoning this population of patients while expanding care for White and more affluent patients in the suburbs. We ask that the Board of Directors for Fairview Health Services reflect on their espoused values of service and compassion and decide to maintain the mental health and addiction beds at St Joseph’s Hospital. 

COVID-19 Resources:

APA Information Hub

Call for Volunteers - Support Services to Frontline Providers

MPA, along with other industry organizations, is calling for volunteers to provide free support services to frontline providers. 
Click here to learn more.

APA Federal Advocacy Coordinator of the Year Award

Dr. Trisha Stark, MPA's Federal Advocacy Coordinator, was awarded the Federal Advocacy Coordinator of the Year Award at the APA Practice Leadership Conference in Washington DC. This award is given by APA for leadership in advancing the profession of psychology through federal advocacy. MPA would like to congratulate and thank Dr. Stark for all that she does for MPA and for psychologists in Minnesota!

Left photo: Pictured left to right (Arthur C. Evans Jr., APA CEO; Trisha Stark; Sandra Shullman, APA President)
Right photo: Pictured left to right (Erika Brink, Susan McPherson, Trisha Stark, Willie Garrett, Robin McLeod, Talee Vang)

MPA Has Your Back!

Worried about your professional future and the future of psychology? Want to make sure your voice is heard? MPA represents you and is the only organization in Minnesota protecting your professional interests.

Click here to find out HOW we have your back!

Click here to read the tips for talking to colleagues about joining MPA.



    Diversity Statement

    The Minnesota Psychological Association actively encourages the participation of all psychologists regardless of age, creed, race, ethnic background, gender, socio-economic status, region of residence, physical or mental status, political beliefs, religious or spiritual affiliation, and sexual or affectional orientation.Although we are an organization of individuals from diverse cultures and backgrounds, the Minnesota Psychological Association also recognizes our core unifying identities as Psychologists who practice in America. We also recognize that we may hold unintentional attitudes and beliefs that influence our perceptions of and interactions with others. Within this context of unity and self-exploration, we are committed to increasing our sensitivity to all aspects of diversity as well as our knowledge and appreciation of the unique qualities of different cultures and backgrounds.We aspire to becoming alert to aspects of diversity, previously unseen or unacknowledged in our culture. In this spirit, we are committed to collaborating with multicultural groups to combat racism and other forms of prejudice as we seek to promote diversity in our society. To this end, we are dedicated to increasing our multicultural competencies and effectiveness as educators, researchers, administrators, policy makers, and practitioners.